2014 Prime Minister's Literary Award winners

The 2014 Prime Minister's Literary Awards winners were announced by the Prime Minister and Minister for the Arts at the National Gallery of Victoria on Monday 8 December 2014.

Fiction—joint winners

A World of Other People, Steven Carroll (Harper Collins)
The Narrow Road to the Deep North, Richard Flanagan (Vintage Australia)


Drag Down to Unlock or Place an Emergency Call, Melinda Smith (Pitt Street Poetry)

Non-fiction—joint winners

Moving Among Strangers, Gabrielle Carey (University of Queensland Press)
Madeleine: A Life of Madeleine St John, Helen Trinca (The Text Publishing Company)

Prize for Australian history—joint winners

Broken Nation: Australians in the Great War, Joan Beaumont (Allen & Unwin)
Australia's Secret War: How unionists sabotaged our troops in World War II, Hal G.P. Colebatch (Quadrant Books)

Young adult fiction

The Incredible Here and Now, Felicity Castagna (Giramondo Publishing Company)

Children's fiction

Silver Buttons, Bob Graham (Walker Books UK)