PM's Literary Awards

The 2015 Prime Minister's Literary Awards are now closed for entries.

About the Awards

The Prime Minister's Literary Awards have been recognising excellence in Australian literature since 2008. In that time 167 books have been shortlisted and 33 books have won.

The Prime Minister's Literary Awards recognise and reward excellence in Australian literature and history. Award Categories are:

  • fiction
  • poetry
  • non-fiction
  • Australian history
  • young adult fiction
  • children's fiction.

These Awards play an important role in celebrating the outstanding literary talent in Australia and the valuable contribution Australian literature and history makes to the nation's cultural and intellectual life.

The winner of each award category receives a prize of $80,000 tax free and each shortlisted title receives $5,000 tax free.

Awards news and events

Stay up to date with all the news and announcements from the 2014 Prime Minister's Literary Awards:

Awards contacts

Email: or
Phone: 1800 707 889.

#PMLitAwards on Twitter

More tweets...