PM's Literary Awards


Image of Prime Minister's Literary Awards books shortlisted for 2015.

The Prime Minister and Minister for the Arts have announced the 2015 Prime Minister's Literary Awards shortlists.

The 2015 Prime Minister's Literary Awards shortlists are:


  • Amnesia by Peter Carey (Penguin Books Australia)
  • Golden Boys by Sonya Hartnett (Penguin Books Australia)
  • In Certain Circles by Elizabeth Harrower (Text Publishing)
  • The Golden Age by Joan London (Random House Australia)
  • To Name Those Lost by Rohan Wilson (Allen & Unwin)


  • Devadatta's Poems by Judith Beveridge (Giramondo Publishing)
  • Earth Hour by David Malouf (University of Queensland Press)
  • Exhibits of the Sun by Stephen Edgar (Black Pepper Publishing)
  • Poems 1957–2013 by Geoffrey Lehmann (UWA Publishing)
  • Towards the Equator: New & Selected Poems by Alex Skovron (Puncher & Wattmann)

Prize for Australian History

  • Charles Bean by Ross Coulthart (Harper Collins)
  • Descent into Hell by Peter Brune (Allen & Unwin)
  • Menzies at War by Anne Henderson (New South Publishing)
  • The Europeans in Australia—Volume Three: Nation by Alan Atkinson (New South Publishing)
  • The Spy Catchers—The Official History of ASIO Vol 1 by David Horner (Allen & Unwin)


  • Encountering the Pacific: In the Age of Enlightenment by John Gascoigne (Cambridge University Press)
  • John Olsen: An Artist's Life by Darleen Bungey (Harper Collins)
  • Private Bill by Barrie Cassidy (Melbourne University Press)
  • This House of Grief: The Story of a Murder Trial by Helen Garner (Text Publishing)
  • Wild Bleak Bohemia: Marcus Clarke, Adam Lindsay Gordon and Henry Kendall by Michael Wilding (Australian Scholarly Publishing)

Young adult fiction

  • Are You Seeing Me? by Darren Groth (Random House Australia)
  • The Astrologer's Daughter by Rebecca Lim (Text Publishing)
  • The Minnow by Diana Sweeney (Text Publishing)
  • The Protected by Claire Zorn (University of Queensland Press)
  • Tigers on the Beach by Doug MacLeod (Penguin Books Australia)

Children's fiction

  • My Dad is a Bear by Nicola Connelly and illustrated by Annie White (New Frontier)
  • My Two Blankets by Irena Kobald and illustrated by Freya Blackwood (Little Hare Books)
  • One Minute's Silence by David Metzenthen and illustrated by Michael Camilleri (Allen & Unwin)
  • Two Wolves by Tristan Bancks (Random House Australia)
  • Withering-by-Sea by Judith Rossell (HarperCollins Publishers)

Find out more about the 2015 shortlists.

About the Awards

The Prime Minister's Literary Awards recognise and reward excellence in Australian literature and history. Award Categories are fiction, poetry, non-fiction, Australian history, young adult fiction and children's fiction.

These Awards play an important role in celebrating the outstanding literary talent in Australia and the valuable contribution Australian literature and history makes to the nation's cultural and intellectual life.

The Prime Minister's Literary Awards provide prizes of $80,000 in each of the six categories for winning titles and $5,000 each for the shortlisted.

Awards news and events

Stay up to date with all the news and announcements from the 2015 Prime Minister's Literary Awards:

Awards contacts

Email: or

Phone: 1800 707 889.

#PMLitAwards on Twitter