About the Ministry for the Arts

The Ministry for the Arts develops and administers programs and policies that encourage excellence in art, support for cultural heritage and public access to arts and culture. The Ministry for the Arts is part of the Department of Communications and the Arts.

Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield is Minister for Communications and Minister for the Arts. The 45th Ministry was sworn into office by the Governor General, Sir Peter Cosgrove, at Government House on 21 September 2015.